Harvey Elliott injury: Referee correct to show red card to Pascal Struijk, says Dermot Gallagher

Leeds defender Pascal Struijk had no intent along with his ankle-breaking problem on Harvey Elliott however nonetheless warranted the red card, former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher instructed the newest Ref Watch.

Leeds 0-3 Liverpool

INCIDENT: Fifteen minutes into the second half, Pascal Struijk makes a problem from behind on Harvey Elliott and falls down on the Liverpool midfielder, which ends up in a horrific ankle-breaking harm.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct choice: red card.

DERMOT SAYS: “What I would say from the outset is, I don’t think Struijk had any intention whatsoever to cause any injury to this boy. I make that very clear. It was a very unfortunate injury, but I think the referee sees that challenge: Struijk goes in from behind, and then the outcome of it.

“You’ve acquired to be very cautious to hold the 2 separate, however, on this occasion, you have a look at it and the outcome and it is very troublesome to say it is not a red card for that harm.

“You might see how severe the harm was as a result of there have been no replays proven, I had to have a look at a feed from elsewhere to see the deal with once more. You see what occurs, the way in which the participant reacted – you knew how severe it was.

“The red card was an on-field choice, though the free-kick wasn’t initially given. The fourth official was shut by and he would have fed in, and that is a beauty of the earpiece proper now. The referees are related up. The enter from all was, ‘We really feel it is a red card’, and a red card was given.

Also See:

  • Get Sky Sports
  • Premier League fixtures
  • Premier League desk
  • Live soccer on Sky Sports this week

“When you see that challenge from behind. The law says: does he endanger the safety of the opponent. Well, the outcome would certainly say yes. Did he mean to? Most certainly not. And that’s the balance here and the dilemma the referee had. I think the referee has a very difficult job not to give a red card when you see the extent of the injury.”

SECOND INCIDENT: Fabinho scores with Sadio Mane standing close to the goalline in an offside place.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct choice: objective awarded.

DERMOT SAYS: “If you look at where the goalkeeper is, the ball actually goes through Luke Ayling’s legs. Line of vision – was the player impeding the goalkeeper’s line of sight? No. The players are apart. I think he is in [the goalkeeper’s] peripheral vision, not in his direct vision and that’s why the goal was given.”

Dermot on David Busst harm in 1996

Gallagher was officiating when Coventry defender David Busst broke his leg in opposition to Manchester United within the Premier League in 1996 and the occasion nonetheless haunts the previous referee to today.

“Craig Pawson had another half-hour to go [after the Eliott incident] and I think the thing with the headsets now, the officials can keep feeding to the referee’s ear, ‘That’s it, you’ve got through another five minutes’, and it’s almost like you break the game down. My incident was 81 seconds into the game so there was a whole match to go.

“The solely factor I’d say about that second: all the pieces I’ve completed in my life, each expertise I’ve ever had, if I might change one factor, only one factor, it will be that I did not kick off that recreation, that day – that is how horrific it was. But it occurred and you’ve got to take care of it and you’ve got to transfer on, which I had to be taught to do.”

Crystal Palace 3-0 Tottenham

INCIDENT: Japhet Tangana scuffles with Wilfried Zaha and both players receive a yellow card before Tangana makes a rash challenge minutes later and receives a second yellow.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct decision: two yellow cards.

DERMOT SAYS: “It’s very fascinating. This incident and the one at West Ham. Two gamers coming right into a confrontation, each get yellow playing cards, which I believe is true.

“If you look at it, he’s angry, they’re pushing and shoving but there are no punches thrown. This the thing: is it violent? With the second tackle, you just shouldn’t make a tackle like that – it’s a few minutes afterwards. You give Jon Moss no choice whatsoever if you make a tackle like that.”

SECOND INCIDENT: Crystal Palace are awarded a penalty after Tottenham full-back Ben Davies blocks a Conor Gallagher cross with a trailing arm.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct choice: penalty.

DERMOT SAYS: “It has to be handball. We talked pre-season about narrowing the grey areas and what would be given and what wouldn’t.

“It’s the actual fact his arm is to date out, and also you see that, it is very, very troublesome to say ‘no penalty’ – particularly after they introduced the margins in so there can be much less debate. If the arms are out, it is going to be punished – and it was.”

Southampton 0-0 West Ham

INCIDENT: Michail Antonio is proven a second yellow card after an preliminary melee with Jack Stephens and is adopted with a rash problem shortly after on Moussa Djenepo.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct choice: two yellow playing cards.

DERMOT SAYS: “I think this falls exactly into that bracket asked for: consistency. There’s a tangle between the two players. They both end up squabbling and with yellow cards, which I think is right.

“It is so comparable [to the Zaha and Tanganga incident]. Antonio then does virtually precisely what Tanganga does as properly – he trails a leg, lunges in and will get a second yellow card. It’s complete consistency.”

Arsenal 1-0 Norwich

INCIDENT: Arsenal goal is allowed after the ball hits Bakayo Saka’s arm in the build-up and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang appears to be offside when striking the ball into the empty net.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct decision: no handball, no offside and goal awarded.

DERMOT SAYS: “It does strike Saka’s hand, however I believe that is all it does. It flies up off the Norwich participant and strikes his arm. I wasn’t too involved about that as a result of it does not fall into what the brand new regulation is. It strikes him and so they play on – it does not go immediately to a participant that scores, and he does not rating – the sport goes on.

“[Regarding whether Aubameyang was offside], this was a really interesting incident because I thought Aubameyang was offside. Aubameyang starts in an offside position, but when the ball hits the post and comes back, it strikes Pepe and goes to him – and at that point he’s returned behind the ball so he’s onside.”

Leicester 0-1 Man City

INCIDENT: Jamie Vardy breaks by way of Manchester City’s excessive line in customary fashion and scores – however the assistant flags for offside.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct choice: objective disallowed.

DERMOT SAYS: “It was tight, but it was also given offside as an on-field decison, which I think was really good. The assistant waits, the ball goes into the net, then the assistant flags. VAR checks it because the play has stopped and he was just offside. A very, very good decision.”

Man City Women 1-2 Tottenham Women

INCIDENT: Tottenham’s winner appeared to strike Rosella Ayane’s hand, however, with no VAR, the objective stood.

DERMOT’S VERDICT: Incorrect choice: objective ought to have been disallowed.

DERMOT SAYS: “It is handball. Warning bells start ringing if you see a forward going through the air with both arms out. Why does she have her hands up there? It strikes her arm and goes in off Steph Houghton for an own goal.”

Win £250,000 on Tuesday with Super 6!

Don't miss your probability to land £250,000 because the Champions League returns. Play without spending a dime, entries by 7:45pm Tuesday.

Sourse: skysports.com

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *